{minna vintage} – My Grandfather, 1940s

March 15, 2009

Here’s an early 1940s photograph of my grandfather. When my grandmother was alive she was fond of telling me I was her favorite grandchild because we looked exactly alike. He died young, at 36, of heart failure, when my mother was only 8 years old –

my grandfather, early 1940s

my grandfather, early 1940s

I do treasure this photograph! The simplicity of just the chair, the subject and the background is stunning. My grandfather was a beautiful man. For some reason when I look at this picture, I imagine the scope of his life so vividly…his hardships, his triumphs, and his grief, knowing he would leave four small children behind with my grandmother.

As you know by now, I adore vintage photography and I’m a believer in sharing those restored and transferred images. With both the restored and original files on CD, I offer a DVD slideshow of the photographs in motion, which makes a terrific gift! Check out a slideshow of my parents 1966 Wedding.

With Easter, Passover, Mother’s Day, & Father’s Day holidays approaching, now is a great time to sort out your old photographs and finally commit them to a digital format. Your vintage photographs are most likely the only copies you own. They’re hidden away in an album or keepsake box somewhere and rarely make an appearance….kinda like the ‘good china’ in the china cabinet! Well, I say transfer them now! Share them with your loved ones.

Subscribe in a reader

Leave a Reply

