MoMA plasters Brooklyn

February 10, 2009

All week I’ve seen this advertising building swiftly throughout the Atlantic subway station, so much so, I was afraid if I stood too still, MoMA might plaster me with an ad! Take a look – 

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA ad plastered on platform

MoMA ad plastered on platform

MoMA on the turnstyles

MoMA taking over the turnstyles

not a MoMA ad - O look, there's actually art - Kara Walker lithograph

not a MoMA ad - O look, there's actually art - Kara Walker lithograph

Seems the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) wants to attract Brooklynites to the MoMA by exhibiting over 50 reproductions from their collection throughout the Atlantic/Pacific hub in the heart of Brooklyn. I, for one, will appreciate their efforts, as I am an avid art lover in all its forms. Plus it beats looking at crusty podiatry advertisements as I ponder life’s peculiarities on the IRT!

Great idea, but I dunno. I was at the Brooklyn Museum of Art (BMA) last Saturday. This seemed to be Brooklyn’s response:

BMA's Beaux-Arts Court

a packed BMA's Beaux-Arts Court - James Brown vs. Fela Kuti danceoff...(I think Fela won)

Retro Brooklyn style...circa 1989?

Retro Brooklyn style, circa 1989

A closer look at BMA partygoers

tie-dyed BMA

A couple of couples

A couple of couples

BMA First Saturday...a look from the other side

First Saturday...a look from the other side

an appreciative partygoer sends a little love to the DJ

an appreciative partygoer sends a little love to the DJ

Subscribe in a reader

Leave a Reply

